My Ringside Seat at the 1984 Mac Unveiling

by muhammad ayman

Tech

As I sat third row center at the Flint Center in Cupertino on January 24, 1984, I had no idea that I was witnessing history.

The original unveiling of the Mac took place at Apple’s annual shareholder meeting, so the majority of people in the audience were investors. Steve Jobs came to the stage, took the white sheet off the Mac, and it said, “Hello.”

On January 24,1984, the Mac was born. And on its 30th anniversary, I’ve taken the time to reflect on how this computer has influenced the world of computing since its debut. While the IBM PC clearly set the ball in motion for the PC revolution, it was the Mac that drove much of the real innovation in personal computing from the time it entered the market.

The Mac introduced us to the first true commercial version of a graphical user interface and mouse, and popularized the 3.5-inch floppy disk. But…

View original post 1,001 more words

